Show / Hide
Visit our Facebook

Perth attractions
Perth tours

Connect with eGuide

Newsletter - weekly travel articles.


Perth Cup

Perth hotels

The Perth Cup horse race is run in January the 1st, New Year's Day, every year at Perth's Ascot Racecourse.

The distance for the Perth Cup has changed over the years. For most of its history it had been two miles, with a few small variations on that distance, but in 2009 it was changed to a shorter 2,400 metres.

The first time the Perth Cup was run it was won by a horse called First Prince. The year of the first race was 1887. In 1919 there was a dead heat, the only one in the history of the Perth Cup, between Eurythmic and Rivose. Some of the more recent winners include Guest Wing, Cat's Fun, King Of Saxony and Field Officer.

Ascot Racecourse has an inclining front straight, that is also 294 metres in length, which tests horses on their way to the finish line. This can make the end of a race very exciting as the horses with greater stamina come home with a rush of speed. With a tight final turn leading to the straight, jockeys must make sure they don't go too wide while also making sure they don't get boxed in if positioned close to the rail.

Public transport to Ascot Racecourse on Perth Cup day consists of bus services that go from Perth or several train stations.

The Perth Cup is always the start of a big year for horse racing in Perth, Western Australia. Other race meetings to attend include the Winterbottom Stakes, Lee Steere Classic, WATC Derby, Karakatta Plate, West Australian Oaks, Railway Stakes and Kingston Town Classic.

Perth's other racecourse is Belmont. The shape of the Belmont track is quite different to that at Ascot where the Perth Cup is run. Races to see at Belmont include the Roma Cup, Belmont Sprint, Hyperion Stakes and Strickland Stakes.


Perth Tours

Perth City Tours

Perth Car Hire

Perth Car Hire

Perth Accommodation

Perth Accommodation
back to top